Defending Commercial Drivers Charged With DUI
Commercial vehicle drivers are held to a higher safety standard on the road, as established by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA). After all, a fully loaded big rig can weigh up to 80,000 pounds and accidents involving these massive vehicles can be deadly. As such, there are strict laws in place that govern commercial trucking companies, commercial vehicles, and their drivers. If you are a commercial truck driver, you are required by law to operate your vehicle in a safe and responsible manner. Any violation of state or federal trucking laws can result in serious legal consequences.
One of the most serious violations is driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, and any commercial vehicle driver who is arrested for DUI in San Mateo or throughout the State of California will face the loss of their commercial driver’s license for one full year. This alone can have far-reaching effects and can cost you your job, your ability to provide for your family, and your future employment. Commercial truck drivers who have been convicted of DUI often find it difficult to secure employment with a trucking company, even after they reclaim their commercial driver’s license.
Penalties for Commercial DUIs in San Mateo, California
In the State of California, commercial vehicle drivers can be arrested and charged with DUI if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is as little as 0.04%. They can also be charged with DUI if they appear to be operating the vehicle while under the influence of alcohol regardless of their BAC. If convicted of commercial DUI in San Mateo, commercial vehicle drivers face harsh penalties and consequences that include:
- DUI Probation
- Up to One Year in Jail
- Up to $1,000 fines
- Up to 36 months in California DUI Education Programs
- Loss of Personal Driver’s License for One Year
- Loss of Commercial Driver’s License for One Year for First Time Offenders
- Loss of Commercial Driver’s License for LIFE for Second Time Offenders
If you refuse to submit to a California chemical DUI test after being arrested for suspicion of DUI, then you will automatically lose your driver’s license and face serious penalties. In fact, refusing to submit to a chemical test can result in harsher punishment, including mandatory jail time. California’s implied consent law requires that all drivers submit a blood, breath, or urine sample if they are stopped for suspicion of DUI. In addition, FMCSA rules state that refusal to submit a BAC test is the equivalent of pleading guilty to DUI.
Fighting Your San Mateo Commercial DUI Charges
There are many ways a skilled San Mateo DUI defense attorney can fight these serious commercial DUI charges. Perhaps the breath test devices were not properly calibrated or maintained, your blood sample was contaminated and/or fermented, or you were arrest without probable cause. Alternatively, you may have been suffering from a serious medical condition such as diabetic shock, which can cause you to appear to be intoxicated when you or not. Or, you can suffer from GERD, i.e., acid reflux, which can cause you have an artificially inflated blood alcohol concentration (BAC) reading. These are just a few of the possible issues in your DUI case. No matter how serious the commercial DUI charges are against you, there may be valid defenses against them, and an experienced and skilled San Mateo DUI defense lawyer can help.
San Mateo DUI Defense Lawyers
At Ahmed & Sukaram, our San Mateo DUI defense lawyers understand the intricacies surrounding DUI cases in the State of California. If you are charged with commercial vehicle DUI in the State of California, your entire career is at stake. Contact the dynamic legal team of Ahmed & Sukaram, Attorneys at Law, immediately. We are ready to fight to protect your rights, safeguard you job, and secure your freedom-no matter how serious the DUI charges are against you. You are not alone-call Ahmed & Sukaram, Attorneys at Law, today.